Our Education System Is About to Enter a Massive Crisis

A warning for those who still believe their kids are in good hands

Alan Trapulionis
4 min readApr 29, 2022
Photo by Matese Fields on Unsplash

I grew up without a father.

My mother did a great job substituting. But I had to piece together the image of masculinity all on my own.

In high school, I had teachers who helped me with that. I had a wonderful arts teacher who took on a somewhat fatherly role to me. He didn’t talk much about the subject matter. What he did was far more important: he talked about life.

He talked about relationships. He talked about money. He was the unfiltered, charismatic male figure so many of us were lacking access to at home.

Years went by. We haven’t stayed in touch.

Then, one time, I thought I recognized him at a small, obscure grocery store on the outskirts of the city. He turned away instantly, but I knew it was him. He was wearing a security guard’s uniform.

Bad luck, I thought back then. Shit happens. Life’s unfair. Isolated incident, nothing more.

Now I’m realizing that was just a small taste of an inevitable crisis.

It’s not about the money

--

--